COVID-19 Information

August 11, 2020

As of 8:00 am, August 11, 2020, India reported 2,268,675 confirmed cases of the novel coronavirus COVID-19 across 27 States and Union Territories in India.  Of these cases, 639,929 are considered active, 1,583,489 have recovered, and there have been 45,257 deaths.

Information for U.S. Citizens Entering India:

Indian Visas and OCI Card Information:

  • All Indian visas issued to nationals of any country prior to March 13, 2020 (except those issued to Diplomats, Official passport holders, those in UN/International organizations, those on Employment, Project visas and those who are operating aircrew of scheduled commercial airlines) and who had not yet entered India, stand suspended.
  • If you have an urgent need to travel to India, you must apply at the Indian consulate nearest your residence. Currently, only certain types of emergency visas are being issued.

Quarantine and Health Screening Requirements:

  • Thermal (fever) screening has been implemented upon arrival in India for all international passengers at airports and seaports.Passengers who are symptomatic or screened positive for fever by automated fever scanners will be taken to designated isolation facilities for further evaluation and testing for the virus that causes COVID-19.
    • If the laboratory test is confirmed positive for the virus, they will be held at the isolation facility for further management.
    • If two consecutive laboratory tests of samples collected 24-48 hours apart are negative, they will be discharged after the symptoms resolve.  They will be provided COVID-19 information material encouraging them to self-report if symptoms recur in next 28 days.
    • The information on these passengers will be shared with Ministry of Health and Family Welfare staff for further follow-up of these passengers at their homes for next 28 days.
  • All travelers seeking entry to India must quarantine upon arrival. Quarantine requirements vary based on destination in India.  Please contact your nearest Indian consulate for information on quarantine requirements prior to traveling to India.  COVID-negative certificates may be required in some instances; please contact the Indian consulate to learn whether you will be required to present a certificate.   

Information on Departing India: 

  • The U.S. Embassy is no longer organizing repatriation flights to the United States. Limited international flights departing from India are now available. Some airlines are restricting boarding based on U.S. citizenship or residency status.  Passengers wishing to arrange a flight should contact the airline directly to determine eligibility.  The U.S. Embassy has no authority over airline boarding procedures.
  • Per the Indian Ministry of Home Affairs, regular visas and e-visas of foreign nationals who have been stranded in India because of the spread of COVID-19 and due to travel restrictions imposed by the Indian authorities whose visas have expired or will expire before commercial flights resume may be extended after making online application.  Exit should also be granted without levy of overstay penalty.  Travelers can contact the FRRO before travel to ensure they have the appropriate exit permission (
  • The validity of OCI card of foreigners presently in India shall remain.
  • All international airline passengers must complete a self-declaration form prior to departure.

Information on Entering the United States: 

U.S. Travel Documents:

  • Currently, there is no change to the requirement that LPR(s) maintain their U.S. residence. For an LPR to use their LPR card as an entry document, they must have been outside the U.S. less than one year or present an unexpired Re-entry Permit. Please note that Re-Entry Permit applications must have been filed before you departed the United States. Please contact USCIS at https://www.uscis.govfor more information.   If you are outside the US for more than one year or your Re-entry Permit has expired, you may apply for a returning resident (SB-1) visa when consular operations have resumed. Information on returning resident visa is available on:
  • On June 22, the President signed a Proclamation which extends the previous Proclamation 10014 and suspends the entry of certain additional foreign nationals to the United States through December 31, 2020. The Department of State is committed to implementing this Proclamation in an orderly fashion in conjunction with the Department of Homeland Security and interagency partners, and in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations.
  • The extension of Proclamation 10014 is effective immediately.  The new provisions of this proclamation are effective at 12:01 a.m. eastern daylight time on June 24, 2020.  This proclamation does not apply to persons who already hold a U.S. visa issued prior to 12:01 a.m. eastern daylight time on June 24, 2020.
  • Under the Proclamation, the Department of State temporarily will continue not to issue certain categories of immigrant visas (continuing PP10014), as well as not issue H-1B, H-2B, L, and certain J nonimmigrant visas, and their derivative visa categories for family members, apart from certain exceptions as laid out in the Proclamation itself.  (Note: H-4 derivatives associated with H-2A and H-3 principal applications may still be issued.)
  • The Proclamation is not retroactive. No valid visas will be revoked under this Proclamation. For questions regarding entry into the United States, we refer you to the Department of Homeland Security.

Local Resources:

  • For any queries related to health, people may contact Ministry of Health & Family Welfare 24*7 helpline number (+91-11-3978046) or email at:

Other links: