Holiday List 2017

Authorized Holidays for 2017

AMERICAN CONSULATE GENERAL KOLKATA, INDIA

DATE DAY HOLIDAY TYPE
January 2* Monday New Year’s Day American
January 16 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr. American
January 26 Thursday Republic Day Indian
February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday American
April 14 Friday Good Friday Indian
May 29 Monday Memorial Day American
June 26** Monday Id-ul-Fitre Indian
July 4 Tuesday Independence Day American
August 15 Tuesday Indian Independence Day Indian
September 4 Monday Labor Day American
September 27 Wednesday Durga Puja ((Saptami) Indian
September 28 Thursday Durga Puja (Astami) Indian
September 29 Friday Durga Puja (Nabami) Indian
October 2 Monday Gandhi Jayanti Indian
October 5 Thursday Lakshmi Puja Indian
October 9 Monday Columbus Day American
October 19 Thursday Kali Puja Indian
November 10** Friday Veterans’ Day American
November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
December 25 Monday Christmas Day American

January 1, 2017 (the legal public holiday for New Year’s Day), falls on a Sunday.  In lieu, Monday January 2, 2017 will be treated as a holiday.

November 11, 2017 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Saturday.  In lieu, Friday November 10, 2017 will be treated as a holiday.

 **Eid holiday would be subject to change, in keeping with the sighting of the moon.